#ToBeardOrNotToBeard

Well, the end of October is fast approaching kids and you know what that means.  That’s right, it’s almost time for—No Shave November!

These guys like to celebrate No Shave Ever.

For those of you who don’t know, No Shave November, or Novembeard as some guys like to call it, is an extremely masculine, month-long holiday wherein us manly men (not so fast Robert Pattinson) don’t shave our faces.

Sounds pretty simple, right?

It is.

And that’s how we men like our celebrations.

That’s also how we like pretty much everything else.

He's sad because Voldemort killed him before he was far enough into puberty to grow his own Novembeard. Dumbledore always won the annual Hogwarts competition anyway so it wouldn't have mattered, but still...

1.  Is there little to no effort?  Check.

2.  Is there booze involved?  That’s entirely up to you, Captain Beardface.  Sort of check.

3.  Is there food involved, say .50 buffalo wings?  Yes, and if you get too many, you won’t even need a doggie bag.  They don’t call it a flavor saver for nothin’, Champ.  Double check.

There are a few “official” rules listed in the link at the top of this post, but you can modify them if you need to.  Technically, you’re not supposed to touch the beard at all during the month of November with anything sharp; but I, for example, allow myself to keep my beard somewhat neat around the bottom edges for work as keeping my job is more import to me than facial follicle superiority.  Other than that though, I just let my beard flag fly.

This is definitely cheating. Also, call me crazy, but I'm pretty sure that's a chick.

It’s awesome.

And scratchy.

And eventually you have to remember to use shampoo on your face in the morning as well as on the top of your head because beard bugs* are the worst.

For some men, beard washing is a family affair.

And I’m not sure if I want to do it again this year because last year amongst all my male friends I was the only one who participated and other than having the satisfaction of growing a sweet, sweet soup catcher it wasn’t as much fun by myself.  Oh well.  I have a few more days to figure it out.

My nephew Caleb can't wait to be old enough to participate in No Shave November. Knowing us Gates men that will probably be next year; the year after that at the latest.

Questions:

Have any of you guys ever participated in No Shave November?  How did you do?

Have any of you ladies?  Because, ewww.

*Pretty sure those aren’t an actual thing.  At least I hope to God they aren’t.

15 thoughts on “#ToBeardOrNotToBeard

  1. No Shave November? I live a No Shave Lifestyle, sir.

    For real, I haven’t been clean shaven in a full calendar year. So the end of this month, when I go fully clean to start anew in November, will be bittersweet.

    But yes, I actually side with you on keeping the neck clean. If I don’t maintain the Turkey Beard, it will run straight into my chest hair, and that’s just gross.

    I’m sorry for this comment.

    • So is the rest of the internet.

      I maintained mine from last year until March, but then it got too hot for me (or did I get too hot for it?) so I removed it.

  2. The best thing about a long distance relationship is definitely the beard. I used to shave once every few weeks, but now that my next trip is planned in January, I’ll have Octobeard, Novembeard and Decembeard wrapped into one fuzzy face. And after that, I’ll feel like a 12 year old again (and my face will be freezing, it’s so nice and warm).

    • For some reason I initially read that as, “I’ve been a beard for like 8 years.” and I was all like, “Do you have something to tell us, Craig?”. 😀

  3. I just polled a group of classmates:
    0/4 girls have participated..but 2 of us cracked up at the girl in the beard hat. And by us, I mostly mean me.
    0/2 boys have participated, one had never heard of it.

    there you have it.

    • I think I found the pic of the Beard Hat linked to either either Etsy or Regretsy. I can’t remember which. 🙂

      One of the boys had never heard of it? Really?! Weird. I’ve known about it for years.

  4. I participate every year as well as cheering on my male counterparts. My husband doesn’t really like beard growing but someday he’ll be into it and it’ll be HOTT.

  5. A few of my male friends participate in Novembeard, and one, who has a full-grown beard by November 2nd, styles the beard for a few days afterwards. I was quite pleased to see the mutton chop gone.

Leave a Reply

